Skip To Main Content
Tanya Bergman: Teacher of the Year

Teacher of the Year

For 58 years, Minnesota has recognized one teacher a year to represent the brilliant educators our state has. Nominees can lead at any age level in any subject area. In 2023, 132 teachers were nominated, and they will soon be narrowed down to a group of 10-12 finalists. Finalists are chosen by a board of 20-25 leaders throughout Minnesotan communities. The finalist will then be nominated for National Teacher of the Year. Minnesota has been honored to represent strong education with four winners of the NTY award. 

This year, Little Falls has the privilege of having a nominee for Minnesota Teacher of the Year, Tanya Bergman. Bergman is a special education teacher at Little Falls Community Middle School. She strives to create a fun and encouraging learning environment for her students. Succeeding in implementing the Unified Club through Special Olympics, she seeks to create relationships between her students and regular education students. Bergman recognizes the importance of patience, and it shows true in her teaching. Our school is very proud to have an amazing representation of the Little Falls educators in the running for this incredible honor!